Born, torn, snore…

It’s 9AM, and my daughter is already down for a nap. She has been up, off and on, since about 2AM.  We are fairly well-versed in the lack-of-sleep lifestyle that comes with toddlerhood, but last night took that to another level.  Around 5:30AM or so we let her watch a show on a phone in our bed while we dozed, which gave us an extra two hours of semi-productive sleeping.  Oy.  Upon waking, without any hesitation, I went on Amazon and bought a toddler alarm clock that glows green when they are allowed to wake and a 10-pack of play-doh as bribery.  I don’t know what else to do.

In other news, I did two new paintings this week, and began prepping a few more.  I am sharing the first one, that will be for a card or 8 x 10 print.  The quote is a little ironic, considering my rant above on obnoxious toddler behaviors.  It is amazing to me, that even though children tear apart any sense of normalcy and push you to the brink of insanity, they still are the most amazing little creatures and it is incredible watching them explore the world.  I understand the feeling of being torn between being a mother and wanting a career, and I respect those who willingly chose careers.  That being said, I don’t regret putting my career on hold, and soaking up the small window of time I have helping these little humans grow into themselves.  I know it is shaping and changing me in ways I can’t even comprehend.

blake1 72

One thought on “Born, torn, snore…”

Leave a Reply

