Hope is a single red balloon….

or 99 of them floating by.

 

red balloon

With the opening of my budding print shop, I am full steam ahead into creating new works.  I know I should be marketing, because that’s what you are supposed to do when you have a business, but I reallllllyyy don’t like it.  I hope my husband steps in here.  Take over all business procedures please.  This blog and posting on Facebook is about as far as I get and even though this blog does help market my shop, I see it as much more than that.

And now to digress to the more personal:

I’ve been reading a lot of poetry lately, especially kid friendly poetry, because my daughter actually sits still for a moment when I read to her.  My mind is all flit and flutter with words and images.  We’ve been reading endless Dr. Suess, Carl Sandburg, Nancy Willard’s “William Blake’s Inn” (although this one is a little complex for her).  We randomly picked up a book of illustrated poems by Jack Prelutsky, and they are simple and great.

This one I have memorized:

“I’m a little brown toad and I live all alone

And I hop hop hop from stone to stone

I have a happy grin as I walk down the road

because I’m glad glad glad I’m a little brown toad”

We also have begun reading the Madeline series (I LOVVVE the illustrations) and Babar, which are both classics.  I know there was more things I wanted to share today, but I can’t think of any of them other than this brilliant quote from George MacDonald that I stumbled across:

“There is this difference between the growth of some human beings and that of others: in the one case it is a continuous dying, in the other a continuous resurrection.”

Leave a Reply

