variety and a million other little things

It has been an interesting few days in my “studio”.  I posted this drawing yesterday, and I am not really sure what happened, but I didn’t get a chance to blog about it.  It is available for sale at my shop here:

embroidered flowers large  72

 

This was another study involving painting embroidery, which was very tedious and time consuming.   Afterwards, I sat down with my daughter and her crayons and did these little gestural sketches in crayon (except the one below), which was quite refreshing.  These are not items I have put on my shop and are done on cheap drawing paper, but I thought I’d share them with you anyways.

 

72 sketch 2

 

72 sketch 3

 

 

 

72 sketch 4

72 sketch 5

 

72 sketch 6

 

 

 

72 sketch 7

 

 

 

****************

So, I had an interesting hypothesis about my artistic behavior, one of which I am trying to battle with.  I tend to vacillate between two polarities: extreme detail/monotony/care and whimsy/intuitive/carefree styles of work.  When I feel more pressure to make work, my work tends to become more controlled.  I am not sure which is best, but I enjoy both.  Below is a study I did in an attempt to embrace my more intuitive self.

 

I would love to know what you think.  Which style of work do you most prefer?  And which do you think is the most interesting/compelling?

This drawing IS available on my shop and can be purchased here

orange abstractions 72

 

I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend.

 

I’d love to write more, but I sorta promised my husband I’d make hime dinner.

 

 

Leave a Reply

