Existential Crises and Brotherly Visits

I hope this blog doesn’t feel like I am complaining all of the time.  It is an interesting balance to be open and honest, but not too… I dunno, narcissistic.  I guess it is my hope that I am having a silent conversation with the people that wander to my blog.  I feel your presence, even if you don’t comment (and no pressure).  

So-o, onto my existential crises.  I have been feeling a little overwhelmed about how I want this blog and my shop to evolve.  The funny thing is, is that it is sort of happening organically, so what I really should be doing is taking a chill pill.  Isn’t that the truth though?  The minute things start to take shape and become a little bit clearer, we panic.  All because suddenly we are realizing the potential for this great thing to happen, yet it hasn’t happened yet.  

And then we want to control it.  

So, as a result of my extra anxieties, my ability to make art has become more difficult.  It has felt forced.

*

**

And this is the moment when I realize I need to say “thank you.”  

I don’t think I would have realized I need to let things go, unless I wrote it right now.

And I don’t think I would have done a drawing today, if I didn’t have you waiting, expecting, a drawing from me today.

************

So here is my offer: Even though it isn’t my favorite drawing,( and I’d like to stipulate this as a sincere offer and not a marketing ploy), I’d like to mail this drawing to the first person to comment on this post.

**

*

And I am currently surrounded by a room full of family, some visiting from out-of-town, so I will bid you all adieu and hopefully we will connect again tomorrow.

tambourine x pattern

 

 

Leave a Reply

