Thursday: El Monte Project Update

Spent some time up on the hillside recording and photographing today with my Grandma.  We are meeting on Thursdays to work on what I am calling The El Monte Project, where we are compiling an archive of all the plants on her property.  The archive consists of the image and name of the plant, as well as an approximation of year it was planted, and any personal or other important information about that specific plant.   As far as the project goes, I am loving it.  I feel like I am in a one-on-one nature class, which is also a family history class, and I get to spend time with my Grandma.  Triple Bonus.  Also, for you other “hunter and gatherers,” we have been using the app Evernote, which seems to be working well right now.  Eventually I will illustrate and transcribe all of the audio and “hopefully” combine it into a book or series of some sort.  We shall see.

Also, moral lesson for today as we were climbing the hills: Nature’s will to survive is incredible.  Many of the plants she showed me, at times were near death, and then pushed through.  Some plants would suddenly burst into life and have a growth spurt, leaving one to wonder, what was holding it back before?  However, some plants didn’t survive.  Like her Flowering Eucalyptus, which was a tree my dad and aunt and uncle used to climb in as children.

Things can be reborn, however.  This is a cross-section of that Flowering Eucalyptus, which has now become part of the placard deeming the property a Certified Wildlife Habitat.

Evernote Snapshot 20130627 094322

Also, pinecones from their gigantic Chir Pine

Evernote Snapshot 20130627 094826

2 thoughts on “Thursday: El Monte Project Update”

  1. It’s so special that you’re doing this project. I have a handful of succulents that came from my grandma’s collection and now that she’s gone they are such treasures.

Leave a Reply

