For the good.

Okay, so it has been a good day.  I went on a run.  It’s my husband’s day off.  I took the little monkey to a pool, where she became a little fish.  A screaming, with glee, sort of fish.  It was adorable. Unfortunately, iPhones aren’t waterproof, so I can’t share any audio or visuals.  It was, however, priceless.

I also can’t help but make a brief mention on things going on outside my little microcosm.  I don’t like getting political.  Like, at all.  In fact, I hate politics with a passion and I think some evil person (the Man!) has purposely divided the country into two polarizing groups, while the majority of us middle-of-the-road people are like, where do we fit in?  However, I feel I am in an interesting space when it comes to the subject of homosexuality.  Many of my friends are gay, and I support them openly.  Also, many other people I am close to feel deep within their hearts that homosexuality is immoral, a thought intwined with their faith and religious beliefs.  I will be the first to admit, that I am not a Bible scholar, however, I think the criticism of homosexuality is not only misguided but completely against Christ’s teachings.  Now, if your blood is starting to boil, can I please ask you to take a deep breath before reading further?  We don’t accomplish anything by dealing with problems emotionally.  And that is where I think this “problem,” this division of right/wrong, moral/immoral got started in the first place.  Emotions.  Emotions that have been hiding under beds, stuffed in old shoeboxes, buried deep under houses, below foundations, causing whole houses to churn and quake.

Trust me.  I have two parents that are therapists, I know what I am talking about.  It’s a little thing called “Repression.”  And I’m talking about the people on both sides of the fence here.  If we sit and stew and judge and spew, we will become monsters, which is not good for anybody.

If someone were to ask me how to fix this problem, here is what I would say:

First and foremost, we have to uproot that sucker that is hiding deep within us, making us monsters.  Which means we have to talk about our issues without become hostile.  This is not easy, and some people may never change, but we need to talk to one another, across the political divide.  With thoughtfulness, and care, because we are all messed up a little bit.

Secondly, I think we need to be like the Grinch and replace all that nasty stuff with love.  I’m not talking about the emotion, that sappy, gooey type of love.  I am talking about the verb “to love.”  The actual act of loving some one.  Giving without expectation of receiving in return (sacrificial love?).  We all need to work really hard at loving people more, and then I think we would see even more change.  Change in ourselves and others, working together for the good.  I think that pretty much trumps everything.  I know that sounds cheesy, but I think it would work.  What do you think?

And, now to the reason why I started my blog in the first (apologies for the minor tangent), my drawings today:
“Seeds Patterned”

seeds pattern 72

 

 

“Hands and Eyes”

hamsa 72

 

 

2 thoughts on “For the good.”

Leave a Reply

