It was the best of times…

Today has been an interesting day for me.  It has been at times, extremely relaxing and pleasant, and at other times, this “I want to pull my hair out” emotion sort of spreads across me and I have to take as many long, slow breaths as possible.  Someday, I will count how many times my child says “mamma” in one day.  No, that is impossible, because I think it may be infinity.   Yes, I lovvve feeling that needed, most of the time.  If we ranked my daughter on a richter scale of intensity, with 0 being completely passed out and 10 being irrationally and uncharacteristically hysterical, she woke up at a  7 or 8, screaming at every wrong or right movement done by those around her.  She calmed down (thank goodness) on our run, however she napped for only 50 minutes!  As I was attempting to put her back down to sleep, (because I knew she needed more rest), and as the attempt was failing, I was simultaneously convincing my fingers not to wrap themselves around my hair and pull, hard.  No, not really.  Realistically, I would have screamed really loud into a pillow or stomped and pouted and behaved just like my little partner. Ok, I confess, I did do those things.  Luckily, I got to go to lunch (!!) with some dear friends (!!) and then hang out with them in our backyard (!!), which sort of made up for everything else.  Also, on a positive note, my little barbarian went to sleep early due to her lack of sleep earlier, so now I can play catch up (and drink a well-deserved glass of wine (!!)).

*************

I also would like to say one little thing about my blog.  Readers, first and foremost, thank you!  I feel very grateful that anyone is listening, at all.  Also, I know I am posting a lot of things for sale, but I don’t expect you to buy something.  That is not what my drawing-a-day thing is about.  I am mainly just posting these paintings daily to keep myself busy, hoping that from doing all this work, something else will arise, or evolve, or grow, or whatever. So, basically what I am trying to say is:

1) Yes, if you absolutely love a painting, buy it! or,

2) if you are feeling financially liberal and want to help me finance my business…go for it! I need all the help I can get and I am extremely appreciative! Buy a painting!  Buy 10 paintings!

3) However, and most importantly, one of the best things you could do for me at the moment is tell someone else about my art/blog/shop.  I think that word-of-mouth thing is supposed to work pretty well, right?

**************

Anyways, I did do a drawing today.  In fact, I did two.  And yes, they are available at my shop: myquiethouse

Because I’ve already talked a lot, basically I’d call these paintings/drawings “pattern-doodles,” and leave you with that.

“Diamonds Dangling”

bw pattern 2 72

“House/Light”

house light 72 border

2 thoughts on “It was the best of times…”

  1. I love the honesty about how you feel as a mom. I can relate… I can relate! And for the paintings – I enjoy your work, it encourages me to continue creating my own works!

Leave a Reply

