The Momelyne Collaboration

So, I really loved the last few posts that I’ve done when I have written a quote on top of a Mad-E scribble.  You can view them here and here.

That got me thinking.  What if I started incorporating more of her scribbles into my actual paintings?  So, I gave her a piece of my good “mom-only” paper, and she took off.  Originally, I imagined altering the work a lot more than I did.  However, I felt each little line and dash and ding was somehow extremely precious.  So I did what anyone would naturally do, I outlined it.  Okay, maybe not everybody does that.  I guess it is kind of like circling an ad in the paper you find important, only in this case I am acknowledging each of her gestural, at times almost Dada-esque, completely and utterly random scribblings are of value.

So, even though I don’t want to sell it, I am going to because we are poor, and there will be more scribbles for me to outline in the future.  (Did I mention this is a series?)  Yes, this is the first in the series, of what I hope to be an epic mother-daughter collaboration.  Also, because I hold this painting more dear, I am increasing the price.  In response to the increase of price, I think it is fair to add that 25% of the profits of these paintings will be put into some sort of savings account/trust fund/whatever those things that people with money have, for college.

You can view all paintings at my shop here: myquiethouse

 

momelyne collab 1 72

Leave a Reply

