Long Hair Lotus

For those of you interested in understanding a little more about my illustrations, I am going to begin to divulge a little about the concept behind them and what they mean to me.  If you are like me, and are primarily only interested in the visual elements of blogs, feel free to gloss right over all this.  Trust me, I understand.

I frequently draw self-portraits.  I have been creating little self-portraits all of my life.  However reading Craig Thompson did inspire me to elaborate on them.  When I was in college, I would draw myself how I looked, with a pixie cut, red hair and glasses.  Doing this, saying that…blah blah blah.  When my journals are out of storage someday, perhaps I will scan and share them.  Lately however, I have switched back to looking more like my childhood self, with long blonde hair and no glasses.  I am growing my hair out.  However, I would not consider it long yet, and the red still lingers.  In fact, I am not even sure what my real hair color is at this point.  Anyways, I think since I have been back living in my childhood home and having a child myself, I feel some how connected again to myself as a child.  So yeah, that is what the hair is about.

When it comes to the length of the hair, I am not trying to relate myself to that girl in Tangled or Rapunzel.  I love my husband, but I don’t need a handsome prince to save me (although I do think he is quite handsome and dashing and all that nonsense).  If you can’t help but relate this image to that narrative, imagine me, as Rapunzel or whoever, sitting in her tower happily reaching enlightenment.  Living contently, seeking God, without the help of the male species.

Ahem, now that that is over.  I also should probably mention that I like to place myself into the role of different saints and religious characters, specifically Mary.  Perhaps I am a narcissist.  I don’t know.  I really think it is just my way of trying to understand things from their perspective.  I mean talk about the ultimate female powerhouse.  Mary, mom of God.  Whoa.  I know it gets more complicated than that, but let’s save that for another time.  I don’t need to write another thesis at the moment.  Anyways, that is just a little bit about my self-portraits, more to come later.

Anyways, this one is for sale on my etsy shop too : myquiethouse

 

long hair lotus

Leave a Reply

